Do I Need a Visa to Visit Singapore?

Singapore attracts many visitors from all over the world due to its good economy, stable political atmosphere, well developed infrastructure, advanced technology, low level of corruption, and excellent security, among other factors. When visiting Singapore, you can be allowed entry with or without a visa, depending on your nationality.

Classification of countries regarding visa requirements

Nationals from almost every country (80%) are free to travel to Singapore for 30 or 90 days without a visa, but this is subject to their country of origin. When it comes to visitors requiring a visa to visit Singapore, there are two classifications:

  • Countries that qualify to apply for an electronic visa
  • Countries whose nationals require a visa vignette

Requirements by all visitors to enter Singapore

It is mandatory for anyone visiting Singapore to have:

  • A passport or travel document valid for at least 6 months at the time of departure
  • A return or an onward ticket
  • Sufficient funds to sustain them during their stay in Singapore
  • Documents that allow them entry (including a visa) to their subsequent destination, if necessary
  • A completed disembarkation/embarkation card
  • A visa and/or yellow fever vaccination certificate, when applicable

Visitors who can enter Singapore visa-free

Nationals of any country not listed as Assessment Level I or II are allowed up to 30 days without a visa in Singapore. The following nationals do not require a visa for up to 90 days to enter Singapore:

  • European Union
  • American
  • Canadian
  • British
  • Australian

For business purposes, business people should obtain a business visa valid for 30 or 90 days depending on their nationality. You can easily get your business visa to Singapore by engaging a reliable agent, who you can reach at

Countries requiring a visa

Nationals requiring visas are divided into two groups: Assessment Level I and Assessment Level II.

Assessment Level I countries

Those with passports or travel documents issued by the countries and territories listed below can obtain a Singaporean visa online. Under normal circumstances, the visa is issued in one working day, and the applicant is allowed to travel with a printout of the e-visa. They include:

  • Georgia
  • India
  • People’s Republic of China
  • Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  • Commonwealth of Independent States (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan)
  • Hong Kong (Document of Identity)
  • Macau (Macau Special Administrative Region (MSAR) Travel Permit)

The above nationals can apply for a visa online through any of the following channels:

  • Resident Singaporean contact
  • Strategic partner in Singapore
  • Singaporean diplomatic mission near them
  • Authorized visa agent outside Singapore

Assessment Level II countries

Citizens of countries within this group need to obtain a visa in advance. Typically, the visa will be issued in three working days, and a visa vignette will be pasted on the applicant’s passport. The applicants can employ the same channels as those used in Assessment Level I to apply for the visas. These countries include Afghanistan, Algeria, Bangladesh, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kosovo, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, and Yemen. Also included are holders of:

  • A Palestinian authority passport,
  • A temporary passport issued by the United Arab Emirates, or
  • A refugee travel document issued by countries in the Middle East.

Other people who do not require a visa to enter Singapore

Singaporean visa requirements do not apply to the following:

  • Non-ordinary passport holders of Assessment Level I countries (except North Korea)
  • Holders of diplomatic or official/service passports of Bangladesh, Jordan, or Tunisia
  • Diplomatic passport holders from Saudi Arabia and Morocco
  • Holders of passports from countries that issue APEC Business Travel Cards (ABTCs) are allowed to enter Singapore without a visa for business trips for not more than 60 days. Countries that issue ABTCs include Australia, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Taiwan, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Visa Free Transit Facility (VFTF)

Nationals of India, the Commonwealth of Independent States, Georgia, Turkmenistan, and Ukraine may enter Singapore without a visa for 96 hours if they are in transit to or from any third-world country, subject to meeting other requirements.

Author: Vinz

Vinz is a part-time travel blogger, part-time digital marketing specialist, and full-time dreamer. He loves the photographic medium for expressing what he loves about life. He always finds himself lost during travel. But he loves unfamiliar territories and finding his way around. Aside from his taste for adventure, he loves two things while traveling - meeting new friends and food.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.